Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
  5. 3
  6. 4

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
  5. 3
  6. 4
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
January 23, 2019
Beautiful, but Some Issues By Marcia

This was a great squirrel-resistant feeder, but a little difficult to fill. Also, a wind-storm knocked it off its post, and it broke into three pieces, so.... Finally, 8 lbs is a lot of feed. You don't want to fill this and then have to carry it to your location.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
February 19, 2018
Excellent feeder for high traffic areas By jdgretz

This is my third one of these - the previous two having outlived their usefulness. I love the capacity of these units. During the heavy use season, I have to fill them at least every other day, and sometimes daily. The design keeps squirrels from climbing up and taking the food, but if yours are as inventive as mine, they hand over the top and nibble. That's what killed the last one - the tree rats ate the plastic feeder hole thing. That allowed the food to fall right out of the feeder. My only complaint (on the last two - this one is too new) is the threaded piece that mounts inside the lid and allows the hanger to rotate comes out after a while and needs to be taped back in with a hammer. My first one died when this fitting let go while the feeder was on the pole and the plastic split when it hit the ground. I repaired the second one a couple of times before it decided to quit fighting me and to stay in place.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 9, 2016
mixed bag By outaboutred
I bought two of these feeders, you have to stay on top of the springs as they get stuck on the metal (due to persistent squirrel attacks) The system does a great job shutting out the squirrels from the opening where the seed is available, but with the weight of the squirrels hanging on the system they were still able to eat through the plastic at the very base and create their own permanent openings. Not a bad system but needs some work. I still have one hanging out back after one full year and it is holding up well
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
April 12, 2016
So far - GREAT By ned1644
We got this feeder to discourage the squirrels and it definitely does that. They have even stopped coming on our deck because they know there's nothing here for them. The feeder is quite large and holds way too much seed. I'm concerned that when it rains, the seed will get wet and ruin it. I fill it half-full and then the birds are limited as to how many perches they can use. I would still recommend this feeder as it is a value for the price.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
February 15, 2016
Vaseline By Pwemir
Recently purchased and found it to be flimsy. I would not purchase again.
But to keep squirrels a little annoyed smear the pole to which it is hung with Vaseline.
Won't hurt them, but keep them entertained!
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
January 13, 2016
Squirrel-Be-Gone Feeder By Steve in Ottawa
Very pleased - birds love it and no interest so far from their furry friends. Quick delivery - well made.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 30, 2015
Squirrel be gone but not the chipmunks By kcml
So far the squirrels haven't gotten into the bird feeder but the springs are a little to stiff to keep the chipmunks out. I also have to revise my pole because the deer are also eating the bird food.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 21, 2015
Squirrel proof feaders By Donna from Gales Ferry CT
I love feeding the birds and hate seeing squirrels drain the feeders so getting 2 feeders at a reasonable price seemed like a dream come true. They appear to work, however, they are not the same feeder. One has 3 compartments, the other does not. One screws on but the other does not have screw threads but appears to hold. Not sure how long the one without screw threads will last, time will tell. Unfortunately, my son threw away the boxes so returning the different one is not an option. Overall "happy" but a little disappointed that they were not identically functioning feeders.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
May 25, 2014
Please offer replacement seed ports! By
I bought this feeder last year at my local hardware store for $45.00. It's the best feeder I've ever used and is completely squirrel-proof. However, some of the larger birds have pecked at and broken two of the seed ports. I called customer service on May 24th, only to learn that no replacement ports are available. You offer the replacement springs, but why not the ports? The feeder is worthless without them. Please consider the number of these feeders sold, and the price your customers pay; replacement ports for this model #337 would be a great help.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
April 23, 2014
One modification has changed EVERYTHING....... By
This is one of the more ingenious bird feeder designs but due to a couple of shortcomings, I've gone through 4 of them in the last two years....until now. As a previous poster mentioned, the springs and internal cups are prone to breakage/destruction. There is a very simple solution to this that the manufacturer can easily incorporate. I purchased some thin walled tubing, cut them to length, tack welded them to the inside of the cage and slipped the springs through those. Now the springs are completely encased, preventing them from being destroyed and thereby never allowing the squirrels access to the internal cups. So far it's worked like a champ. The only other improvement I would recommend would be to make the feed housing and cups from glass for a truly squirrel proof feeder that would last for years and years. It would certainly be worth the increase in price.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone® III Wild Bird Feeder

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate