Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
October 7, 2018
My squirrels open the lide and feast! By SuzanO

I have pictures of a squirrel sitting IN the feeder. I had to put a copper pipe over the wire and take it down to get the pipe off to fill it. They can open it! Now I just put hot pepper sauce on the seed. The birds don't care... the squirrels hate it.

Response From Perky-Pet®
Jennifer : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello,

Thank you for providing this feedback! We apologize for this experience. Feeder placement is very important when forcing the squirrels to interact with the weight activated perch. We recommend hanging the feeder at least 12 feet away from any squirrel launching point and four feet off the ground.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions or for additional assistance. We are happy to help!

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
January 17, 2018
Needs improvements By BirdyK

Has design flaws. The top on the one I purchased isn't strong enough to keep those pesky squirrels from accessing. They can also hang from the cable and still get at the seed. The cable broke after a few months. I would strongly suggest that it be pole mounted (with a baffle to help with furry marauders!) because if filled, it will likely not hang for very long. The squirrels around here are not deterred by safflower or hot peppered anything. Bummer!

Response From Perky-Pet®
Jennifer : Consumer Relations Representative

We apologize for this experience and appreciate the time taken to provide this feedback. The information has been shared with our Product Managers.

This feeder is covered by a one year warranty with a copy of the purchase receipt. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for further assistance.


 

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
May 4, 2017
More like Squirrel Be Feasting By Gatorgal

Took the squirrels less than 48 hours to figure out how to prop themselves up on the wheel that adjusts the tension and reach around and get seed. Greasing the wheel didn't deter. We also were mindful to make sure that the locking cap for the top was activated, but on the second day we found a squirrel INSIDE the feeder feasting away. Numerous times we chased it out, relocked it and would find the critter back inside within the hour. We had also ordered safflower seed as recommended but that hasn't stopped them, neither has pepper. Considering a falcon for the next step in our battle......jk

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
March 30, 2017
Not very squirrel resistant By Mike

Squirrels get the top off of this, too easily. Then , they crawl inside and feast. If the top threaded on, it would be more squirrel resistant. They can also sit on the tray and even though it closes, they get their claws between the glass and closed tray and peel seeds out that way

Response From Perky-Pet®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Mike,

Thank you for sharing this valuable feedback. This feeder uses our Sure-Lock™ cap to help prevent squirrels from lifting the lid and stealing the seed. To secure the lid down, press the button at the top of the lid while holding the hanging wire taught. Slid the lid down and give the wire a slight pull up to ensure a tight fit.

We appreciate the suggestions regarding this feeder and have shared them with our Product Manager. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
September 11, 2016
Squirrels love it! By cityart
Product appears well made but squirrels can still get the food with ease. There is a gap when they push the perch down allowing the squirrels to reach the food. They rest on the perch and eat as long as they want to. Also if you adjust slide weight to the lighter setting, the cover stays closed and the birds can't get the food. Like the way it looks but does not work well.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative
We apologize for this experience and would like the opportunity to learn more. Regardless of the weight setting, the bar should never stay down unless something heavy enough is pushing it down. Our feeders are covered by a one year replacement warranty. Please give our Consumer Relations Team a call at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) so we can make this right.

For persistent squirrels, here are a couple tips that can keep them away from any feeder. Use safflower seed or add it to the mix. It is nutritious and attracts a large variety of birds, but squirrels don't like it. Add cayenne pepper to the seed. Birds do not have a sense of taste or smell so it won't affect them, but it will repel squirrels.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
June 6, 2016
Filling it is cumbersome By GaryF
1) Our two feeders hang from the poles we already had. To fill them you need to remove the whole feeder by lifting the cable so that the loop at the top disengages. For this I need to use a ladder. I also must use the ladder when lifting the filled feeder back up to re-engage the loop.
2) I wish the lid was wider and deeper because filling it with 12 lbs. of seed is easier if you can just pour it from the pail or bag. To avoid spillage while filling, you're best served by using a funnel.
3) Because it hangs from a single cable, it can rotate in the wind. This means that sometimes you do not get to "see the show" because the perch is on the side away from your view.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative
Hello Gary,

We apologize for this experience, and appreciate the valuable feedback you have offered. Our product team always looks for possible product improvements and consumer suggestions are helpful.

Feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any additional questions.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
June 5, 2016
Not Squirrel-Proof By rhp80
My squirrels loved this feeder. Althought it was hanging 15' below the tree limb on chain, they were able to leap onto the roof and pry off the lid. The result was a feeder hanging off center with squirrels digging into the hopper for a very tasty meal. I have drilled holes in the roof and lid in order to secure the lid with wire. It has been 24 hours, and it appears that the squirrels may have been stymied by this kluge fix. I like the capacity and look of the feeder, but was extremely disappointed that those pesky rodents were able to defeat the design.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative
We apologize for this experience, and would like to offer some additional tips for deterring the squirrels.

Adding cayenne pepper to the seed will not affect birds since they have no sense of smell or taste, but will help deter the squirrels. We also recommend placing the feeder at least 10 feet laterally from the nearest jump off point.

Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
March 28, 2016
12 pounds x 2 is too heavy for feeder pole By Matt
I bought two of these, filled them up with seed and hung them on my iron feeder pole. The wire was too long and the feeders weren't high enough off the ground and hardly any birds came by. A few days later, they were still full, but the pole bent and broke from the weight of the feeders.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
June 30, 2015
Nice Feeder but Squirrels still feast By Orioles
We purchased this feeder in April with high hopes that this would be the one to keep those pesky rodents out of the bird seed. No luck. I even moved the feeder to the middle of the backyard where there are no over-hanging trees and even added a 16" plastic squirrel baffle to the pole. They manage to hang on to it and continue to climb the pole and then onto the feeder. At that point they hang from the top and reach down into the tray for food or they actually cause the cover to close and perch on it, and using their tiny little fingers they pick the seed out between the acrylic plates and the tray.

Even the Blue Jays don't bother to dive bomb them any longer. Back to the drawing board.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative
Thank you for sharing this feedback on our squirrel resistant feeder. We are sorry to hear that the squirrels were extremely clever and determined enough to still access the seed, even after trying a baffler and moving the feeder.

We appreciate this feedback and have shared this experience with our Product Manager. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
March 7, 2012
Disappointed By
I purchased this feeder & the Perky Pet Mounting Pole since the feeder was advertised as being pole mountable. When I received the feeder I realized the bottom of the feeder is not flat. If you attach the base of the pole directly to the bottom of the feeder, it will be mounted at an angle & therefore the feeder will sit at an angle. I guess the base could be shimmed to make mount fit properly but that's not very desirable. The pole itself seems pretty well designed but it just doesn't work well this feeder & I will not be using it with this feeder....I hung the feeder on a hanger & I am also disappointed in the feeder since 1. It is not very well balanced and doesn't hang straight. 2. In the 20 mph wind we have today, it spins around. I think I can overcome these problems but I didn't anticipate having to "make it work".

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone II® Feeder - 12 lb Seed Capacity

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate