Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
June 16, 2018
Scared to buy it By Dennis J Ste[phen CFP

The cable for hanging feeder doesn't look strong enough and the reviews don't give me any confidence in this feeder.

Response From Perky-Pet®
Jennifer : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Dennis,

This feeder can hold up to 12 pounds of bird seed. The hanging cord is designed specifically for this feeder and will provide the support needed.

If for whatever reason you are dissatisfied with your purchase, the feeder is covered by a 30 day return policy and a one year warranty with a copy of the purchase receipt.  However, we think you will thoroughly enjoy this feeder.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions or for additional assistance. We are happy to help!

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
January 8, 2018
Feeder needs more thoughtful design and testing. By warpwiz

This feeder has so much potential. BUT: 1. It's heavy! I have to use 2 shepard's crooks side by side to support it with a full load of seed. 2. The front (behind the lever mechanism) is bowed. This allows our furry friends to dig into the seed behind the trough when the cover is down. 3. The seed does not flow to the trough easily. I have to give the feeder a shake to fill the trough every day or 2. As the seed dwindles, the birds use other sources.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
May 8, 2017
Good enough for now. By Lynnski

The birds love this feeder & the squirrels finally gave up once we moved it away from all possible jumping points.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 4, 2016
Squirrel Proof Feeder By JanetM
Definitely works at keeping squirrels from accessing seed however, wish feeder was double sided and hanging cord sturdier... feeder claims to hold 12lbs of seed and is somewhat difficult to hang when full.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Tara : Consumer Relations Representative
We appreciate the time it took to share your feedback and apologize for this experience. We have shared these suggestions with our Product Managers.

Our Consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973). Please feel free to contact us for further assistance.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
July 31, 2016
Squirrel proof feeder By gramma
At first the squirrel proof feeder worked. But the squirrels figured out how to get the food without touching the bar that closes it. Hung upside down on the pole, reached out and grabbed the feeder and ate the seeds without touching the bar.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Patty : Consumer Relations Representative
We are sorry to hear about this experience and are happy to help. Some additional measures may help keep these smart squirrels away. Try some of these tips.

• Add cayenne pepper to the seed. It will not affect the birds since they have no sense of smell or taste, but will repel squirrels.
• Use safflower seed (or add it into the mix). It is nutritious and attracts a large variety of birds, but squirrels dislike it.
• Add a baffler below or above the feeder.
• Place feeders at least ten feet away from launching spots, such as trees or decks, and at least five feet above the ground.

Please give our Consumer Relations Team a call at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with additional questions.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
February 22, 2016
Nice try but no go! By mtlee
We like the feeder but the squirrels come over the roof, jump onto the top of the feeder and then hold the side of the feeder while only placing one paw for balance on the bar, then they proceed to eat all the seed. Nice try, but no cigar!
Response From Perky-Pet®
Susan : Consumer Relations Representative
We strive to produce feeders that will be difficult or impossible to access, we apologize that this was not your experience.

To further help deter squirrels from stealing seed, we recommend hanging your feeder 10 feet from the nearest squirrel launching site and at least 5 feet off of the ground. Adding cayenne pepper to the seed will also help repel them without affecting the birds since they have no sense of taste or smell.

We hope this information is helpful. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any additional questions or for further help.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
October 20, 2015
The pole does not fit the feeder By rocksteady
I like the feeder but the pole that I thought the feeder was supposed to mount onto does not fir. The diameter of the pole is about an inch and the hole is only 3/4 of an inch. What pole would the feeder fit onto.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Lauren : Consumer Relations Representative
Hello,

The hole in the bottom of this feeder is 13/16th’s of an inch. We would recommend using a 3/4th inch pole to properly pole mount this feeder.

We hope that this information was helpful. Please contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) for additional assistance.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
September 20, 2015
spings too tight! By Mary65
We have bought two of your feeders both the barn type one dbl wide and the other single wide the double was great as far as the tightness of the springs but the squirrels hold on to the bar that attaches to the roof and lay on the weight bar and get enough to feed on w/out shutting it. The second single barn feeder would be fine but
the spring is so tight that the squirrel or( even a racoon I think) :) can literally sit right there and eat no problem. We have many trees so hanging away in a clear spot is impossible. I will return the new barn as it did not fix my problem. In saying that..... I think your design is great just needs some tweaking. Looser springs and taller body from top to bottom on the wider barn w/ out that side bar holding the roof so they cannot hold onto the top and hang to the food bins. Also If in your video you say a squirrel can jump 8ft from the ground why are the poles only 5-7ft? you would actually still need both baffles to make it work properly. Any suggestion on how to loosen the springs?
Response From Perky-Pet®
Susan : Consumer Relations Representative
Hello Mary,

The knob on the side of the feeder can be used to adjust the sensitivity of the feeder. To adjust, unscrew the knob until it loosens slightly. The knob can be moved forward to increase the sensitivity or backwards to decrease the sensitivity. Once the desired settings are reached, the knob can be tightened again.

Squirrels are able to jump vertically up to 4 feet. Because of this we recommend hanging a feeder 5-8 feet off of the ground. They are able to jump up to 8 feet horizontally.

We hope this information is helpful. Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 18, 2015
Problem with the weight sensitive bar By Deb54
My husband purchased the Squirrel-Be-Gone II feeder for me two Christmas' ago as we have lots of squirrels. I filled and hung the feeder out last summer. The squirrels tried to get at the seed and did not succeed as the Bar closed down, but it would not reopen. I kept reopening each day and finally got fed up and put the feeder in my garage. This summer I pulled it out again and same thing happens each time a squirrel tries to invade it. I have tried sliding the knob on the bar right to the back and I've also found that if I hold the birdfeeder on a slight angle backwards the bar comes back up, but if the birdfeeder is straight up and down (as it is when it is in the tree; it shuts down and won't reopen. Any suggestions? I would love to be able to use this birdfeeder! Thankyou for any help you can give me.
Response From Perky-Pet®
Kelly : Consumer Relations Representative
Hello Deb,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. When the feeder is level the bar is designed to move up and down freely. After adjusting the sensitivity knob it should be screwed tightly to the bar. We apologize that this was not your experience and hope you find this information helpful.

Our Consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 21, 2011
can\'t find parts By
I have been looking for parts for this feeder and keep coming up empty. I have a perfectly good feeder except the wire broke and I can't fine a replacement. HELP!

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Perky-Pet® Squirrel-Be-Gone II® Feeder - 12 lb Seed Capacity

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate