Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
  1. View All
  1. |
  2. Previous
  3. 1
  4. 2
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
September 12, 2018
wet seed By annie

seed keeps getting wet and moldy!

Response From Perky-Pet®
Jennifer : Consumer Relations Representative

Hello Annie,

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are very sorry for this experience! To help keep this from occurring, we recommend hanging the feeder in an area that is sheltered from strong winds. It is also recommended to clean the feeder and replace the seed at least once every two weeks.

Please feel free to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-PERKYPET (1-855-737-5973) with any questions or for additional assistance.

Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 9, 2016
Perfect for Goldies By Schisjms
Nice to have a feeder just for Goldies. No more being bossed out by other birds. Less waste of food. Easy clean and fill.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
August 18, 2013
Amazon Review, love it By
birds love, it the top stops the bird seed from getting wet and keeps the mold away. would recommend it to others.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
January 9, 2013
Amazon Review, FANTASTIC! By
Bought it for a Christmas gift for my Father-In-Law and he called me immediately after opening it just so happy. He loves it and so do the Finches.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
January 2, 2013
Amazon Review, Glad I bought it By
The feeder looks nice still after some seasons - mostly sun and some rain. I use a clip to attach it to a tree branch. Take the bottom plate off. I think the only use for this would be if you are mounting it on top of a post? Not sure. There are holes in the bottom of it regardless, not sure why. Air? Air already gets in through the feeding holes. I ended up taking my caulking gun and filling them in with silicone (Entirely out of site). But before I did this, any movement by the wind or heavy finch and seeds would fall out to the ground? Still happy with the product though.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
September 12, 2011
Amazon Review By
I have had this product about a month and found two things that could be changed. The holes and perches could be spaced further apart. I have seen the bigger sparrows on the middle perch stretching up to the top hole to get the seed. Also some birds sit on the bottom of the feeder tray to get the seed also. So its not only the finches that are getting to the seed, which the feeder claims to allow only gold finches to feed upside down. But it is one of the better feeders we have had outside those two things.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
September 6, 2011
Amazon Review By
Pros: Metal construction, wide top that keeps seed dry, sturdier by far than the cheap plastic cylinders, which deteriorate very quickly. Con: Separation of the feed ports is insufficient - house finches can stand on the lower perch and stretch to reach the upper port. Needs only another inch spacing at each level. I put duct tape over the upper ports but this decreases feeding capacity by one third. As others have noted, the feeder comes with a wide base that non-goldfinch species can perch on and stuff their beaks. Easy to remove by unscrewing the machine screws that hold it on. Not clear why the maker bothered with this addition. Unless your house finches are really stupid, some of them will figure out how to copy the goldfinches or will cling to the edge of the metal trim. No perfect solutions! Squirrels have no interest in niger, but the mixes that include other seeds will attract squirrels and they will do their best to destroy the feeder. Generally, a decent value for the money.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
June 1, 2011
Review Posted on Amazon.com By
This type of feeder is great for feeding Goldfinches and NOT sparrows. We had one just like it that lasted for about three years. It might have survived longer, but it blew down in a storm and the UV-weakened plastic cylinder broke. The plastic is fairly thick and the rest is metal. The wide roof helps to keep the seeds dry, which is nice.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
April 8, 2011
Review Posted on Amazon.com By
Nice feeder it took about a week for the Finches to get the "hang" of it but they did and it works pretty good, except we have a few Redwing Blackbirds that have become addept at hanging upside down to steal some food!Nice feeder.
Review Rate
Review posted on swww.perkypet.com
September 24, 2010
Amazon Review, Almost Perfect By
Goldfinches love this attractive feeder. I wanted to replace the flimsier, flexible, yellow-capped $10-$13 upside-down feeders that break too easily, spill seed if you hold the feeder too tightly after refilling, and let in rain through the seed holes. As some reviewers have said, the drawback to the new feeder is that other birds can get to the thistle by reaching up to a hole; it's hard to believe that the feeder designer didn't anticipate this. Didn't anyone test the feeder before production? Simply adding half an inch or so between perch levels would have solved the problem. On the plus side, the roof helps keep the seed dry, and the base, which would have been more useful if larger and concave (it is small and flat), catches some of the spilled seed, and the goldfinches eat it there. I didn't remove the base, as other reviewers have done, because this feeder's only pests -- house finches and sparrows -- can still sit on a perch and reach a hole above, so I left the base on to catch some seed. The good news is that house finches and sparrows prefer black-oil sunflower to thistle. As long as my sunflower feeders are not close to this feeder (mine are about 15 feet away) and have ample seed in them, the house finches and sparrows invariably go for the sunflower and ignore the thistle feeder, where they have to work a little harder anyway to reach up and take seed. And the goldfinches DO catch on to the upside-down thing right away; they often eat upside-down on garden plants, so they have no problem with an upside-down feeder.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Perky-Pet® Upside Down® Goldfinch Feeder - 3 lb Seed Capacity

How do you rate this product? *

 
1
2
3
4
5
Review Rate
Cookies On This Site Ok This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site you agree to these cookies being set. To find out more see our cookies policy.