Perky-Pet® Dried Mealworm Bird Feeder with Flexports®, Lifestyle 1

Reviews for Perky-Pet® Dried Mealworm Bird Feeder with Flexports®

Model
388F
3
3 out of 5 stars
59%
13 Reviews
5 stars 5 (38%)
4 stars 0 (0%)
3 stars 2 (15%)
2 stars 1 (8%)
1 star 5 (38%)
Sort by
Rating
Newest
Helpfulness
I had/have the same issue ...
3
Mar 16, 2024
I had/have the same issue with the perches go up. Be it the wind or the Carolina Wren's leaving in a hurry. I used a rubber band placed in the hinge groove and under the feeder to the other side. Works and does have some 'give' for transporting it in each night. Otherwise the feeder works as promised.
Was this review helpful? 0
I have been feeding mealworms ...
5
Jan 24, 2024
I have been feeding mealworms from two handing platform feeders with sides. That has been okay but on a windy day the mealworms can end up on the ground, not to mention what happens when it rains. I purchased two of these, and although it took a couple of weeks for the birds to find them, now they are one of the first feeders to empty. Im happy to know that the mealworms are protected from the elements and the birds enjoy feeding from them!
Was this review helpful? 0
This feeder is pretty neat.
5
Dec 9, 2023
This feeder is pretty neat. I spent a long time looking for a tube feeder for MealWorms. This is the only one that works. However: it is too small. I have to fill it twice a day. How about one in a big, 3.5in dia. X 20in., tube.
Was this review helpful? 0
Verified Buyer
5
Oct 24, 2022
I love my mealworm feeders I purchased. Love watching bluebirds around my yard. They nest in one of my houses and have been for several years now.
Was this review helpful? 0
I REALLY like the PP ...
5
Aug 8, 2022
I REALLY like the PP Dried Mealworm feeder. By the way. I would buy a glass/metal version of this at a higher price...but so far I am happy with this feeder. I have had this feeder for approximately 3 months. I recently acquired 3 baby bluebirds which frequent the feeder along with parents. More bluebirds, more joy, more expensive food bill. The only birds I have seen utilizing the feeder are Bluebirds and Wrens, so it appears to not be suited to larger birds which is GREAT. I do get flies that get trapped within the top space of the feeder; apparently they must work their way in from the ports and up through the mealworms (I let the flies out, but perhaps I should just leave them...???). It does appear that mealworms easily spill from the ports onto the ground as the birds are eating. These do get eaten by other birds and squirrels, but I'd rather not feed expensive mealworms to those that eat less expensive seeds. Is there a seed catcher tray that can attach to the bottom, or a suggestion for attaching an adaptation that would work (without creating unintended consequence of attracting bigger birds to spill even more).
Was this review helpful? 0
This meal worm feeder arrived ...
1
Jun 6, 2022
This meal worm feeder arrived with only one flex port. It is unusable. Need quality control!!
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Jun 6, 2022
We are so sorry to hear that the ports were missing when your feeder arrived! Please give us a call directly so we can work with you make this right! - Susan
Difficult to clean
3
May 2, 2022
Nice idea but a pain to clean. Please redesign so will come apart easily for cleaning.
Was this review helpful? 0
This item is in need ...
1
Feb 18, 2022
This item is in need of some redesign because, like others have commented here: Every time the wind blows the perches blow shut blocking the flexports and thus removing any possibility of any bird landing....once the wind has blown the very light flimsy perches up against the side of the feeder, this blocks the flexports rendering the feeder completely useless to the birds. There should definitely be some sort of a bump or catch so that once one opens the perches, they lock in place. It's ridiculous how lightweight they are, and therefore how easy and with how little breeze, they simply flip up, and stay up. I've now strung a piece of wire from the far end of one perch, under, to the far end of the other perch and then twisted the wire tight and it seems this will hold the perches flat and open. But consideration of this should have been made during the design and manufacture. I can't recommend this, without also recommending that a user must add a modification.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Feb 21, 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and have passed on your comments to our Product Managers. Please feel free to contact us at 855-737-5973 with any questions, we're happy to help. -Kathryn
Verified Buyer
Good item.
5
Jan 25, 2022
We bought two of these feeders to attract blue birds but other species like it as well.
Was this review helpful? 0
This product didn’t get any ...
2
Jan 8, 2022
This product didn’t get any quality control. We purchased this to feed Carolina wrens meal worms. It hangs on our back porch. Every time the wind blows the flexports blow shut. We have tried tying the ports open but it doesn’t work well. The ports should lock into place.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Jan 11, 2022
We are so sorry to hear about this and would like to learn more about your experience so that we may provide you with further assistance! Please give us a call at 855-737-5973 with any questions. We're happy to help! - Rachel

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

Page
Page
Apply per page
  Canada

Visit Our
Canadian Store